Huge fire shuts top venue

An Evening Of Burlesque
An Evening Of Burlesque
0
Have your say

Derby’s Assembly Rooms will be closed until May due to the huge fire in the venue’s car park.

Shows will be cancelled, up to and including Sunday, May 11.

A spokesman for the venue said: “The damage caused by the major fire in the plant room on the roof of the Assembly Rooms car park on Friday evening, is extensive. At present, the site is structurally unsound making any work to assess the total damage a high risk and therefore time consuming. To ensure safety of the public the car park and Full Street will remain closed until further notice.”

All of the services that supply the Assembly Rooms were in the plant room and have been destroyed.

The plant room will have to be demolished before being replaced.

While the clean up operations get underway and initial works are undertaken thevenue will be closed for at least the next eight weeks.

The Derby LIVE Box Office team will be contacting all customers as soon as possible to arrange either an exchange to a new date or full refunds.

Shows hit included Anton du Beke and Steve Tilston Trio on Friday, Beyond the Barricade on Saturday and Grimethorpe Colliery Band on Sunday.

Dates featuring top TV comic Sarah Millican (inset picture) yesterday, today and tomorrow, and Friday’s Evening of Burlesque (main picture) and Julian Joseph Trio in the Darwin have also been hit.

Also hit are Paul Carrack on Sunday.

All other scheduled Derby LIVE events in the Guildhall Theatre, on the Market Place and elsewhere, will go ahead as planned.

To read the full list of cancelled shows go to www.ripleyandheanornews.co.uk.

The cancelled shows include:

Friday 14 March Anton du Beke and Steve Tilston Trio

Saturday 15 March Beyond the Barricade

Sunday 16 March, Grimethorpe Colliery Band

Monday 17 March the Tea Dance

Tuesday 18, Wednesday 19 and Thursday 20 March Sarah Millican

Friday 21 March An Evening of Burlesque and Julian Joseph Trio

Saturday 22 March Paul Carrack and Interrobang

Sunday 23 March Derbyshire Music Education Hub’s Celebration Concert

Monday 24 March Tea Dance

Tuesday 25 - Saturday 29 March New Jersey Nights

Thursday 27 March Andy Kirkpatrick

Friday 28 March Andy McKee

Saturday 29 March An Evening with Michael Dodd

Monday 31 March Tea Dance

Tuesday 1 April The Good Old Days of Music Hall & Variety

Wednesday 2 April Sinfonia Viva

Thursday 3 April Charlie Landsborough

Friday 4 April A Night of Dirty Dancing

Saturday 5 April Joel Dommett and Gala Concert

Monday 7 April Tea Dance

Friday 11 April Kerry Godliman

Saturday 12 April Funhouse Comedy Club

Monday 7 - Saturday 12 April Buddy - the Buddy Holly Story

Monday 14 April Tea Dance and Russell Brand

Tuesday 15 April Hot Flush

Saturday 19 April Monsters of Mock, Interrobang and EPD Championships

Tuesday 22 - Wednesday 23 April Peter Pan

Thursday 24 April That’ll Be The Day

Friday 25 April Nights on Broadway and European Jazz Ensemble

Saturday 26 April Dave Swarbrick & Said the Maiden

Monday 28 April Tea Dance

Tuesday 29 April The Hallé

Saturday 26 & Sunday 27 April Aliens Love Underpants

Friday 2 May Pasadena Roof Orchestra

Saturday 3 May Son Yambu and Jane McDonald

Sunday 4 May Championship Boxing

Tuesday 6 May Return of the Grumpy Old Women

Wednesday 7 May The Solid Silver ‘60s Show

Thursday 8 May Matt Richardson

Friday 9 May Singalonga Grease and England Away

Saturday 10 May Feast of Folk and Interrobang

Sunday 11 May Evolution