Final chance to register for county election

Today is the last chance for local people to make sure they can vote in the Derbyshire County Council elections on Thursday, May 2.

All 64 seats will be up for grabs as a new council is elected for the first time in four years.

But adults who have not registered to vote by 5pm today, Wednesday April 17, will not be able to have their say.

Candidates in the Duffield and Belper South Division are: Ben Bellamy (Lab), Jeremy Benson (Lib Dem), Stuart Bradford (Con) and Barry Clark (UKIP).

Meanwhile in the Horsley Division, John Banks (Lab), Kevin Buttery (Con), Wayne Porter (UKIP)and Kate Smith (Lib Dem) will be standing.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm and voters should look out for the polling cards that will be dropping through their letterbox before the election to tell them where to vote.

Eligible voters who do not receive a polling card for any reason will still be able to vote.

Residents at risk of missing their chance to vote include those who have moved house recently.

Local people can register to vote by visiting or the electoral registration office at their council.