Hopes of a large turn-out at polls

A BIG turn-out is hoped for as people gear up to vote in Amber Valley borough, town and parish council elections in the Belper area tomorrow.

A third of seats on the borough council are up for election as well as seats on Belper Town Council in the north, south and east wards, and Holbrook, Duffield and Smalley parish councils.

Ambergate and Heage are represented in the Ripley Town Council elections.

A total of 22,342 people, out of the Amber Valley electorate of 63,642, are eligible to vote in the elections.

The borough ward of Belper East has the largest electorate of 4,540, followed by Belper South with 4,409 and Belper North at 4,019.

There are 3,913 eligible voters in Duffield, 2,416 in Ripley and Heage, 1,635 in Ripley and Ambergate, and 1,410 in Holbrook.

On the town council there are 12 seats up for grabs — four in each ward. Five candidates are contesting the Belper East town council seat. They are Labour’s Alan Broughton and the Conservative quartet of Kay Charlton, Jacqueline Cox, Colin England and Martin Tomlinson. In the Belper South ward there are seven candidates. They are the Conservative’s Peter Arnold, Deborah Biss, Norman Bull and David Smith, Labour pair Erik Johnsen and Peter Shepherd, and Liberal Democrat man Richard Salmon.

The five candidates in Belper North are Conservative foursome Joe Booth, Alan Cox, Mark Robertson and Gary Spendlove, along with Labour’s Stephen Holden.

A mammoth 17 candidates will battle it out on Duffield Parish Council for 12 seats. For the Conservatives there is Pauline Buckle, Steven Evanson, Paul Greenwood, Yvonne Greenwood, Richard Knibbs, Ken Raynor, Francis Rice, John Rowlands, Chris Short, Nick Storer, Brenda Woodings and Tony Woodings.

There are also five Labour candidates — Kevin Curley, Isobel Fisher, Margaret McGowan, Patrick Mountain and Keith Wharam.

Holbrook Parish Council is dominated by nine independent candidates standing for Halls for All, out of the 17 standing in total for ten seats. They are Nick Bannister, David Anthony Bower, David Gilbert Bower, Peter Carpenter, Hilary Davidson, Andrew Davies, Gary Horrobin, Julie Matthews and Anthony Swinscoe.

The remaining candidates are John Banks, Richard Biggin, Kevin Cassidy, Ian Coker, Mel Hall, Richard Massey, Bertha Morral and Malcolm Rhodes.

Results from the borough council elections will be counted on Friday, while town and parish council votes will be counted on Saturday. All the votes will be counted at Alfreton Leisure Centre.