LOCAL ELECTIONS: Voting gets underway

Ballot box
Ballot box

THE STARTING gun has sounded for the Amber Valley Borough Council 2012 election hopefuls.

Residents in 15 of the Conservative controlled borough’s 45 wards are set to go to the polls today, with the results announced early on Friday.

The current make-up of the council chamber sees the Tories with 28 seats, Labour with 15 and The British National Party with two.

Nine of the 15 seats up for grab this year are held by Tory members .

It means Labour would need to take seven seats from the ruling party to take control of the authority this time round.

The candidates for the Belper Central Ward are Ben Bellamy, Labour; Jane Benson, Lib Dem; John Nelson, Conservative and Dave Wells, Green Party.

The seat is currently held by Conservative candidate John Nelson and polling stations are to be located at St John’s Primary School, Laund Nook; at St John’s Chapel, The Butts; at Belper Congregational Church, on Church Walk off Green Lane and at Pottery Bowls Club at Whitemoor.

The candidates for the Belper North Ward are sitting Alan Cox, Conservative; Jeremy Benson, Lib Dem and Erik Johnsen, Labour.Polling stations are set for the Hilltop Inn, Belper Lane; St John’s Primary School, Laund Nook and at Belper Congregational Church, Church Walk.

Vying for the Heage and Ambergate seat up for grabs this year are Jack Williams, Independent; David Farrelly, Labour; Rodney Tomkins, Lib Dem and sitting Angela Ward for Conservative.Polling stations are to be open at Ambergate Methodist Church, Devonshire Street; Parkside Methodist Church, Parkside, Heage; The George Inn, on Main Road, Lower Hartshay; Street Lane Primary School, Street Lane, Denby; Band Rehearshal Room, Shop Lane, Nether Heage.

Candidates for the Kilburn, Denby and Holbrook Ward are John Banks, Labour; Norman Bull, Conservative; Kevin Buttery, Conservative; Matthew Cruickshank, Labour and Margaret Tomkins for Lib Dem.

To cast your vote, polling stations are to be open at St Mark’s Church Hall, Openwoodgate; Denby Bottles Methodist Church, Danesby Crescent; Denby Cricket Club, High bank, Denby Village; Holbrook Parish Hall, Moorside Lane and Kilburn Village Hall, Church Street.

For the Shipley Park, Horsley and Horsely Woodhouse Ward the candidates are Ian Holden, Labour; Kate Smith, Lib Dem and sitting Alex Stevenson, Conservative.

Polling stations are to be located at Shipley Parish Hall; The Field, Smalley Richardson Endowed Primary School, off Kerry Drive; St Susanna’s Church Hall, Main Street, Horsley Woodhouse and Horsley Primary School, Church Street.

Currently Amber Valley sees a third of the 45 seat councillors stand three out of every four years.