Super sixteen achieve D of E award

SIXTEEN adventurous youngsters from two local schools have achieved their Duke of Edinburgh awards.

Five pupils from Ecclesbourne School in Duffield and 11 children from Belper School went along to Derbyshire County Council’s headquarters in Matlock to pick up their certificates and badges.

Cllr George Wharmby, chairman of the county council, presented the awards. He said: “It was great to see so many young people receiving their awards.

“A lot of hard work goes into achieving all levels of the award which is recognised by employers as a sign of drive and commitment.”

The quintet from Ecclesbourne picked up gold awards.

They were Josslyn Beevers, Richard Clough, Annie Marshall, Charles Percival and Emily Vincent.

Six of the Belper pupils gained silver awards. They were Abi Bowers, Peter Croucher, Laura Curran, Sarah Marriott, Keira Moran and Matthew Serementa.

The other five — Megan Baker, Elizabeth Cracknell, Francesca Dolby, Jessica Hales and Poppy Thomas — took home bronze awards.

They were among more than 150 young people from schools, colleges, open award centres and voluntary organisations to have achieved one of the awards during the past four months.