Belper let two-goal lead slip

Evo-Stik League

First Division South

Belper Town 2

Brigg Town 2

AFTER dominating most of their first home game of the season Belper Town let slip a 2-0 lead and had to settle for a draw against Brigg Town last Tuesday.

It was a fast and furious start with both sides relishing the warm evening sunshine with Belper holding the early initiative.

The Nailers took the lead on 17 minutes when Jamie Smith got to the ball ahead of the onrushing ‘keeper, and lobbed the ball into the unguarded net.

Belper suffered a blow when Deon Meikle went off following a clash with Gregg Archer.

There was a close call on 39 minutes when Andy Richmond came and missed a corner kick but fortunately Damien Magee was on hand to clear Liam Dickens’ header off the line.

The Nailers needed the comfort of another goal as the second half got under way but they struggled to make an impression.

However Tom Woodward made a brilliant save in the 54th minute after Ruben Wiggins-Thomas set up Matty Thorpe for a well-struck effort from just inside the penalty area that appeared to have ‘goal’ written over it, until the ‘keeper intervened.

In the 62nd minute Lee Morris found himself clear but dragged his shot wide of the far post when he would have felt that he should have done better.

However the Nailers got the second goal they richly deserved on 63 minutes when Jon Froggatt headed a deep cross from Damien Magee over Woodhead for his first goal of the season.

But Belper celebrations were cut short on 66 minutes when the Zebras pulled a goal back after Lee-Roy Cochrane directed his header just inside the near post.

Then in the 73rd minute the visitors were level when Alex Flett cut inside and hit an inswinging cross that Richmond initially came for before realising he had misjudged the flight of the ball, by which time it was in the net.

Neither side could fashion a winner and at least Belper had their first league point of the season on the board.

Belper Town: Richmond, Adams (Ortuno 81), Magee, Camm, Plant, O’Hare, Wiggins-Thomas, Meikle (Thorpe 29), Froggatt, Smith J, Morris. Unused subs: Graham, Spargo, Rushbury

Attendance: 146.

Match Sponsors: BTFC Operations Committee