Marshall leads the way again in latest club time trial victory

Jonathan Marshall of Belper Bicycle Club
Jonathan Marshall of Belper Bicycle Club

Jonathan Marshall has won the second and final Club Championship Time Trial run by Belper Bicycle Club, following up his victory in the first event.

This time, it was held on the hilly ten- mile course around the Windley / Kedleston area.

On a wet and blustery evening, there were still six riders who turned out to brave the conditions of the night and in a time trial that was decided by just one second, it was Jonathan Marshall who won with David Wallwin second.

The times were: Jonathan Marshall with 30:38, David Wallwin 30:39, Tony Goldstraw 32:08, Nick Bates 35:44, Mark Tomlinson 35:59 and Allan Morton with a course PB time of 36:48.

Meanwhile, Sunday, June 9, saw Derrick Woodings and Mike Allen in road race action again, this time in the Tommy Godwin Memorial, promoted by Solihull CC. Tommy Godwin was not only involved in the Olympic game prepara, but was also an incomparable cyclist, coach, manager and ex-president of the British Cycling Federation.

In the race, Derrick noticed Mike Allen has punctured with two laps to go without a change of wheel, leaving him the only Belper BC rider left in the race.

On the last lap, Derrick was in a compact group and he waited for the final ascent towards Wolverton before moving up to the front, having followed the consistent pace. Approaching the left turn just, Derrick attacked hard and opened a gap which he maintained to hang on to win his ‘G’ age group category, with Joe Rowe the overall race winner.