Errors cost Sports in league cup final

East Midlands Counties

League Cup Final

Holbrook Sports 2

Thurnby Nirvana 4

A POOR start and missed chances put paid to Holbrook’s hopes of ending a superb season with some silverware.

In last Wednesday evening’s final at Gresley FC’s Moat Ground, Brookies manager Leigh Grant had a full strength squad to choose from with the exception of the cup-tied Jack Coulson.

However, a late fitness test was failed by central defender Paul Campbell which brought a call up for Shaun Roulston.

Holbrook began very slowly and some poor defending saw them two-goals down inside the first 11 minutes as Smith and Melbourne took full advantage for the Leicestershire side.

Chris King got Holbrook straight back into the game and Sports finished the half well on top.

They put some really good free-kicks into the penalty area and James Ozmen hit the bar with a header with Emeka Ejiofor only able to fire the rebound straight at the Thurnby keeper.

Five minutes later a great ball in from the left by Lee Mitchell was headed over by Emeka Ejiofor from five yards out and the Brookies went in at half-time trailing 2-1.

Holbrook began the second half on top as well and they had three golden chances to draw level.

The first ball in by Niall Mather found Marc Finlay but he could only head against the cross bar. Then, a great ball in again by Lee Mitchell found an unmarked Finlay and this time he hit a post.

Moments later Chris King saw his 20-yarder blocked on the line.

Against the run of play Thurnby broke downfield, Jordan Smith went past Ant Tansley and his cross was executed by Melbourne for 3-1.

Holbrook made changes, going three at the back with Dave Hind and Jordan Gregory coming on for Gav Whitehead and Robbie Harrison.

But more poor defending let in the league’s top scorer, Jordan Smith, for his second goal of the tie to make it 4-1.

Holbrook battled on and in injury time Davd Hind made the final scoreline 4-2.

Holbrook Sports: S Lillie, G Whitehead, S Roulston, A Tansley, N Mather, R Harrison, C King, J Ozmen, L Mitchell, E Ejiofor, M Finlay.

Subs: V Hallsworth, J Gregory, K Jellyman, D Hind, C Saunders.

Attendance: 225.