‘A’ teams are to the fore in honours race

Ripley Town v Punjab United
Ripley Town v Punjab United

THE A-teams have it. Allenton United have won the Premier Division, Allestree are Division One champions and Allenton United Reserves need just one point to win the Division Two championship.

Allestree won their title in midweek when they beat Ripley Town 2-1 with two goals from Dan Sharp. Ripley’s was an own goal.

On Saturday, Allestree went down 4-2 to Tibshelf. Steve Webster (2), Steve Clements and Gareth Riley all scoring for Tibshelf.

Helping Allestree to the title was Punjab United’s 4-2 loss to Little Eaton. Paul Quincey (2), Mark Shooter and Chris McReadie scoring the Eaton goals.

Punjab’s 2-0 win at Ripley came too late to affect the outcome.

In the Premier Division it was a bad week for Sandiacre Town as first they lost 10-2 to Mickleover RBL and then went down 8-0 to Derby Royals.

Mickleover then went on to play the other team in the bottom two Ashover. Dale Carline scoring twice to give Ashover a two-goal lead

Mickleover came back to draw 2-2 despite having a man sent off.

In midweek, Cromford moved back into second place when they won 3-0 at Wirksworth Town with goals from Anthony Fay, Danny Wildegoose and Joe Kay.

On Saturday, Wirksworth drew 2-2 with Melbourne Dynamo to keep in Cromford in second spot.

In midweek, Melbourne Dynamo picked up a trophy when they beat Chellaston 2-1 in the final of the Challenge Cup. Lee Scott and Danny Guild scoring for the winners.

Rowsley 86 kept the pressure on for runner-up spot by beating Holbrook St Michaels 1-0 with Dan Widdowson scoring the only goal of the game.

Boden, Pardey and Cartwright all scored for Matlock Sports in a 5-3 defeat against Willington.

Curtis Read scored the goal which saw Derby Rolls Royce Leisure gain a 1-0 win over Newmount.

Derby Rolls Royce Leisure mixed the first team and their Reserves on Saurday with the result that the Reserves gained a 7-0 victory over Woolley Moor United in Division One.

Possibly the day’s most exciting match was the one in which Derbyshire Amateurs beat Bargate Rovers 6-5 with goals from Elliott Perry (2) Sam Marshall, Darryl Hawkins, Eddie McMillan and James Collins.

Findern who lost 2-0 to Punjab United in the week, then went down to Pastures.

Tibshelf also played midweek, drawing 2-2 with Bargate Rovers.

Rowsley 86 Reserves went down 4-1 at home to Mickleover RBL Reserves while Swanwick Pentrich Road Reserves beat Derby Singh Brothers 4-1 with goals from Steve Spensley (2), Mark Waghorn and Danny Ball.

Allenton United Reserves beat Melbourne Dynamo Reserves 4-0 to effectively remove the latter from the Division Two title race.

However, Mackworth St. Francis kept in contention by winning 3-2 at Pastures Reserves.

Wirksworth Ivanhoe moved up into third place by beating Little Eaton Reserves 3-0. Ben Marsh (2) and Jack Higton scoring the goals. Eaton coming to this match fresh from a 2-1 over Chellaston Reserves in which Niall Worrall scored for Chellaston,

Derby Royal Reserves lost 3-1 to Hilton Harriers while Sam Hicking and Shane Briddon scored for Bargate Rovers Reserves in their 2-2 draw with Chellaston Reserves.