Celebrating sporting successes of youngsters

Share this article

The sporting successes of school pupils will be celebrated at the 2013 Derbyshire Schools’ Sports Association Sports Awards.

Organised by the Derbyshire Schools’ Sports Association (DSSA), the event will recognise the sporting achievements of primary and secondary school pupils and pay tribute to some of those who have made a valuable voluntary contribution to school sport.

In addition, this year an award will also be presented to recognise the contribution which media and arts make to school sport.

Among those nominated for an individual award is Jonathan Howkins from St John’s Primary School in Belper and Grace King from The Ecclesbourne School.

Karen Shopland, chairman of the Derbyshire Schools’ Sports Association, said: “This has been another fantastic year for school sport in Derbyshire and I would like to congratulate all of the nominees. The talent and achievement demonstrated by the young people across the county is awe-inspiring.”

The awards ceremony will be held at The County Ground, Derby, home of Derbyshire County Cricket Club, on Tuesday, October 1.

Around 200 guests are expected to attend the evening to see awards presented for individual and team achievements in a wide variety of sports.

The event will also see several young promising sport stars presented with John Bainbridge Award Grants of £50 each.

John Bainbridge Award Grants are awarded annually in memory of John Bainbridge, who died of a heart attack in 2004 aged 51. John was head of sport and recreation at Wilsthorpe Community School in Long Eaton and played a leading role in setting up the Derbyshire School Sports Awards.

Derbyshire Sport is a county sports partnership and provides the strategic lead for sport in Derbyshire. It is a partnership organisation made up of partners working together to improve the lives of the people in Derbyshire through sport and active recreation. Sport England is a major funder of Derbyshire Sport.

Partners include Amber Valley Borough Council, Bolsover District Council, Chesterfield Borough Council, Derby City Council, Derbyshire County Council, Derbyshire Dales District Council, Erewash Borough Council, High Peak Borough Council, North East Derbyshire District Council, South Derbyshire District Council, Derbyshire Primary Care Trust, and Sport England, among others.