Five-a-side league completes its 25th season

Last Sunday saw the conclusion of the 25th season of the Belper and District Five-A-Side Football League.

At the finals night event, organiser Andrew Conkleton thanked Mark Green, Sharon and son Luke for their help and also thanked referee Nick Sanders, who has retired after 25 years of service.

In the Premier Division, Ladzio were league champions, Divisional Cup Winner and Belper Oberon Cup runners-up.

Belper Oberon were league runners up, A-Z Trophy and Belper Oberon Cup winners

Barca Loners were Divisional Cup runners-up and Athletico Billbuzz were A-Z Trophy runners-up.

In Division One, George Oberon & Lezbos were league champions and Divisional Cup winners. Ivory Toast were league runners-up.

Belper Harts won the Beaurepaire Trophy and Old Speckled Men were Divisional Cup runners-up.

Leedale were Beaurepaire Trophy runners-up

There were joint winners of the Premier Division goalscoring award with Leigh Holbrook of Belper Oberon FC and Shaun Welch of Ladzio scoring 33 goals each.

In Division One, Liam Packard of George Oberon & Lezbos scored 26 goals and James Pecz of Ivory Toast scored 22.

Top cup goalscorers were Leigh Holbrook of Belper Oberon FC with 30 goals and Shaun Welch of Ladzio with 21 goals.

The final Hector Atwal trophy for the Premier Division’s outstanding player was awarded to Mark Melbourne of Athletico Billbuzz.