Hopflower FC take the top honours at league awards

Share this article

The 2011/12 Matlock and District Football League finally came to an end with the hosting of the annual presentation evening.

The top awards went to Hopflower FC who not only won the Hellison’s Trophies Division One trophy but also went on to do the league proud by lifting the coveted DCFA Junior Cup (North) after a 4-2 win over fellow Matlock League counterparts Woodthorpe Rovers.

Runners-up in Division One were Shirebrook, Rangers who pushed Hopflower right to the very end. Rangers were also runners-up in the Manor Pharmacy Shield.

In the Solar Press Division Two, Codnor Miners arms and Matlock Sports pushed each other all season for the right to be crowned champions and in a season where any of the top five teams could have won the title, it was Codnor Miners who ran out winners, Matlock Sports being promoted in a close second-place.

The 106th Cavendish cup final was won by Chesterfield Town FC who also went on to win the Manor Pharmacy Shield final and finished third in Division One.

Darley Dale Lions were relegated to Division Two but they will regroup and possibly challenge next season for an instant return. Darley did win the Sportsman Shield of the year award.

Hurst Farm United and it’s barmy army finished funners-up in the Matlock Cup but they triumphed in the Invitation Shield final with a fantastic and well-deserved win against Wirksworth Albion.

Riddings Rovers won their first piece of silverware this seaason by lifting the Matlock Cup. The Referee of the Year award, voted for by all teams, went to Simon Owen.

The Golden Boot award for the Hellisons Trophies Division One went to Hopflower’s Aidan Ordidge who hit 36 goals.

The Solar Press Division Two award went to South Wingfield’s Jay Miles who notched 33 goals.

The Player of the Year award went to Steve Prime of Laburnum Saints in Division One with Darrel Webster of Hurst Farm United winning the award in Division Two.

The Secretary of the Year award went to Laburnum Saints secretary Rhia Dilloway for all the hard work put during the season.