Win sets Holbrook up for Vase tie

East Midlands Counties Football League

Gedling MW 0

Holbrook Sports 2

WITH one eye on this Saturday’s FA Vase tie third round home tie with Norton United, Holbrook manager Leigh Grant made changes for this league game.

His decisions proved of benefit as the side chalked up a fifth successive league win and gained valuable pitch minutes for some of the squad.

New signing Darren Ruston started up front with the returning Paul Fisher. Ryan Baker filled the right midfield whilst Tom Gibson began on the left.

Sports kicked-off with a fierce wind at their backs and looked to dominate the early play.

However, with the wind playing havoc and Holbrook showing a distinct lack of their usual quality in the final third, the first half was a struggle.

An injury to Tom Gibson on 25 minutes brought another reshuffle with Niall Mather coming in at left back and Lee Mitchell moving to his more accustomed left midfield role.

The best chance of the first half fell to Paul fisher after a near post flick on from the right but he could only place his header just wide and the interval arrived with the score goalless. The game changed almost immediately in the second half. Almost from the kick-off, some neat football in midfield found Paul Fisher, whose strong run forced him into the six yard area. His shot beat the home goalkeeper but came back off the post and Ryan Baker had an easy task from a couple of yards out to put Holbrook 1-0 up.

Sports made changes on the hour mark with Emeka Ejiofor on for Ruston and Vaughn Hallsworth for Baker. Five minutes later Ejiofor turned his marker on the edge of the the penalty area and sped past another defender before finishing into the bottom corner for 2-0.

Vaughn Hallsworth continued his fine run of form with a surging run from 35 yards out and shot which resulted in a fine save from the Gedling keeper who also saved well five minutes from time from a fine Robbie Harrison shot.

Holbrook: S Lillie, G Whitehead, P Campbell, K Jellyman, L Mitchell, R Baker, R Harrison, C King, T Gibson, D Ruston, P Fisher. Substitutes: E Ejiofor, V Hallsworth, N Mather, S Ridgard, S Whittingham.