Belper Hockey Club lads seal a place in the national finals

Share this article

Belper Hockey Club’s under 18s boys side have turned in a superb display to win the EHB Midlands Regional Indoor Finals Tournament.

The prestigious tournament was held at Aldersley Leisure Complex, Wolverhampton.

During the course of the tournament, Belper were successful in beating Wolverhampton by a margin of 4-1.

They then followed this up with further victories in the pool matches against Lichfield (10-2) and Ludlow (5-1).

Moving in the semi-finals they got the better of Cannock 3-1 and then came up against Beeston in the final of the tournament where they got the better of their Nottinghamshire opponents by a 2-1 scoreline.

The next stop for the team after their success will be the National Finals, to be held on January 18-19.

The winning squad was made up of Dom Bennett, Jacob Bullock, James Casha, Ben Clague, George Collier, Charlie Falkingham, Ben Hurst and Alex Robey.

Meanwhile, a young and experienced Belper team also took part in the under 16s Boys Midlands Indoor Tournament on the same day.

Duringthe course of the tournament, they lost three games and won one, gaining a lot of importantexperience that coaches believe will stand them in good stead for future years.

The squad members at the tournament were Ciaran Cahill, Sean Cave, Joe Das, Jon Hartley, Tom Hurst, Jon Moores and Matt Tolley.

On the previous weekend, the Belper Girls teams played in their respective indoor tournaments.

Belper Junior Girls under 16s and under 18s teams travelled to Wolverhampton to take part in the Regional Indoor Finals.

The under 16s girls lost 7-2 to Lichfield, 10-2 to Beeston, beat Stourport 4-3 and Leicester 6-1.

The squad was Lucie Gale, Lucy Cooke, Gemma Williams, Sarah Glenn (C), Alice Selby, Helena Skinner and Frances Schofield.

The under 18s girls lost 1-0 to Stourport, winning against Leicester 5-3 and Wolverhampton 5-1, but losing the tournament decider 4-2 to Beeston.

The under 18s girls squad was made up ofCarrie Brewell, Ellie Miles (captain), Alex Smith, Charlotte Gale, Niamh Vallack, Niamh Cahill and Nicola Hartey.