Belper Marlin’s Joshua Horobin competes with best at British Swimming Championships

editorial image

Belper Marlin’s Joshua Horobin competed with the nation’s best at the British Swimming Championships at the Olympic Pool in London.

His 100m breaststroke times have been sparking interest over the last few years but now, as a 15 year-old, he has been able to compete alongside the best in the country.

And he swam an inspired performance to secure a new personal best time of 1.09.48.

This gave him the position of 17th in the 15/16 years-old age group - moving seven places above his entry position.

Belper Marlin Swimming Club are all really proud that one of their own has been competing at such a high level and one that has been trained by the club since he was a young boy.

At 15 years old he has another year under his belt to take off a further couple of seconds and climb up the rankings.

After an amazing start to the year with a phenomenal first round win at the Four Towns Gala, it was now the turn of another Marlin team to compete and show their metal.

Hucknall was the venue for the Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire Junior League Round One.

This time the team could only be made up of swimmers ages 12-years-old and below, but as always this simply lulled the opposition into a false sense of security as the small Derbyshire club turned up in force.

Within the first five events it was clear that the Marlin’s were there to do business and, race after race, they stormed home.

Individual and team events were won time after time and the crowd of enthusiastic and noisy parents took the roof off with their support.

It was a brilliant evening with the final cannon relay telling the neighbouring counties that Marlin’s were a force to be reckoned with.

The heroes of the night were Nick Skinner, Ruby Haslam, Joseph Allen, Briane Adams, Philip Lamb, Megan Oram, Barney Hart, Pheobe Barden Charlie Outram, Maddie Tatham, Berty.Jackson, Eleanor Moseley, Monty.Wright, Jodie Baker, Sam Brookes Caitlin Oram, Dean Smith, Sophie Allen, Joel McGraw, Danny Skinner, Katie Dymond, Ryan Horobin, Lucy Rantzen, Howie Barden, Georgia Rose Minifie and Rhianian Wadey.