Belper Marlins bring in the titles and personal bests

editorial image

Belper Marlin’s year came to an end in a sequence of fantastic events.

Over three weeks the club Championships was the internal competition to see who had top honours at the club.

This gave children that had trained hard all year, the chance to leapfrog others and pip them to the touch in age organised events.

From nine year olds up to seniors the pool was the place where you had to step up and prove your club ranking.

And club records fell and personal best times were slashed in a competitive event.

Between all of this ten senior swimmers went off to the Etwall Open Gala which serves as Derbyshire’s Master Championships across 55 events.

Almost every swim resulted in a personal best and no team had more vocal support.

Belper Marlin masters now hold 11 county champion titles, each one hard fought against high quality opposition as they beat many larger and younger teams finishing sevent th of the 43 competing clubs.

The hihglight for the club was Helen Skinner, who gained second place in the overall women’s competition.

Then came the turn of the younger swimmers in Sheffield’s Ponds Forge, who took the opportunity to plunder a large number of medals including an unbelievable 17 golds, 15 silver and 11 bronzes.

In all the club achieved 64 top six finishes, with stand out performances coming from Danny Skinner with four golds, four golds for Josh Horobin and three golds for Amy Neild.

Huge best times were achieved by the Dymond sisters – with Sarah winning the 50 fly 14 age and Katy the 50 breast stroke 11 age.

Other gold medallists were the Brookes boys – Sam and William, Amy Hewitt and Tia Millington as the club doubled their gold medal tally from the previous year.

The club then ended the year with their annual awards night with top honours for the year going to Megan Oram and Madeline Tatham (Jnr Girls), Nick Skinner (Jnr Girls), Katy Dymond (Int Girl),Danny Skinner (Int Boy), Chelsea Eley (Snr Girl) and Connor Osin (Snr Boy). C

ounting up all the wins the children had attained over the year the head coach Mike Brett awarded Caitlin Oram, Casper Raynard and William Brookes with Junior Marlin; and Maddie Shrimpling and Joshua Horobin with Senior Marlin.