Belper’s Ben Monk racks up century break milestone

editorial image

Belper’s Ben Monk notched his third century in League and competition history courtesy of a magnificent 101 en route to a 3-0 win over Jack Lynch in the Open Individual Handicap semi final.

The century break moved him alongside Scott Cooney as the most prolific century maker in the Darley Dale Snooker League.

He will meet Andy Russell who reached his second final, courtesy of a 3-1 win over Steve Bullock.

Meanwhile Jaxx Q Club of Belper entertained Bolehill Institute No 2 in an important league clash, which may help decide who takes the runners-up spot behind champions elect Edgefold No 1.

Ian Peacock took the opener on the black for the visitors, but Craig Sheppard took the next with an emphatic display of potting before Devon Neave edged the hosts ahead in the third.

Mick Bunting equalised, but the home pairing of Sheppard and Neave dictated the play in the deciding doubles leg to earn a 66-22 success and ultimately a 3-2 victory.

Belper Strutt No 1 also remained in contention winning 3-2 against Edgefold No 2 of Matlock.

Ben Monk took the first before Steve Bullock sealed the deal whilst Jodie McLarkey won both his singles and doubles frames for the vanquished.

Matlock Cons continued their resurgence courtesy of a 5-0 win at Bolehill No 1.

Charlie Hodgkinson, Richard Deakin and Chris Parker all took black ball deciders to keep them in touch for the end of season play offs.

Matlock Club defeated Alfreton Palmer Morewood 4-1 with Paul Bryan top scoring whilst Kevin Rowland registered for the Amber Valley outfit.

And Edgefold No 1 continue to do their impression of a runaway train at the top as they scored a 4-1 win over Belper Strutt No 2.

Keith Hubbold put the visitors in front in the opener but from thereon the league leaders dominated with Andy Russell and Neil Parkinson top scoring.