Belper Strutt No 1 seal eight successive win in snooker league


Belper Strutt No 1’s 3-2 win at Bolehill Institute No 2 moved them into second place of the Darley Dale and District Snooker League.

Steve Bullock and Paul Jarrett were the mainstays as they won both their singles and doubles frames to seal the team’s eight straight win.

There was an identical score as Strutt No 2 edged past Bolehill No 1 with Chris Stubbs and Justin Weller undefeated on the night in singles and doubles after Colin Marchington had took the opener for the visitors on a re-spotted black.

And league leaders Edgefold No 1 went 3-0 up at Jaxx Q Club with Andy Russell’s run of 66 taking him to the top of the breaks chart before Tim Maslin was instrumental in reducing the verdict to just the minimum margin.

Russell was also in superb form in the OMYA Cup individual event, contributing visits of 66, 54 and 38 in just two frames to progress to the semi finals.

In the Elliott Carpets Billiards Division a remarkable frame saw Whitworth’s Jim McCann notch a 102 break plus two half centuries yet still lose out to Tansley Potters’ Joe Neville. Whitworth had the final say though, winning 12-10 to edge to the top of the table.