Fairweather powers to Fulford League crown

Ian Fairweather - Fulford Time Trial League champion. (S)
Ian Fairweather - Fulford Time Trial League champion. (S)

RIDERs enjoyed a warm evening for round 13 of the Fulford Cycles Time Trial League. Thirty-three took part over two laps of the rolling 15-mile Boroughbridge to Marton to Aldborough course.

Yorkshire Road Club’s Ian Fairweather secured the win he needed to take the league title for the second year running, in a record 32:32 (27.7 mph) and score the perfect nine wins.

Fairweather has again been untouchable with nine wins out of ten starts, the other one he didn’t finish after puncturing.

The Boroughbridge-based rider can now concentrate on retaining his Yorkshire Cycling Federation crown. Second and completing a hat-trick of wins over veteran title rival Nigel Goscinski by 11 seconds was Nova’s Duncan Mullier (32:54), 22 seconds off Fairweather and smashing the existing veterans’ record. The second place knocks Yorkshire Velo’s Goscinski (33:05) from pole position in the vets’ title for the first time this season and with just two flat events and three hills climbs to go it is going to be a tight finish.

Fifty-three seconds down the road was Nova’s Dave Morris (33:58) who has been the surprise of the season, leaping from nowhere to be a real challenger. Sadly, however, Morris is unlikely to compete in any more events this season after breaking his collar bone in a training accident. He’ll now hope that his existing best nine events will be enough to hold on to fourth spot in the league.

One possible challenger for that spot is Simon Ketteringham who finished just six seconds behind Morris in fifth in 34:05.

Sixth and seventh were the York duo of league newcomer Ian Burkinshaw (35:16) and Chris Mawer (35:30) ahead of Gary Marks in eighth (35:43). Yorkshire Road Club’s Mike Shacklock was equal ninth with Nova’s Walter Busuttil in 36:51.

The Junior record was also set by Nova’s William Staveley with 38:08 and father and son Martin and Ben Shaw rode on a tandem in a time of 43:52.

2010 and 2011 Ladies Champion, Joanne Ketteringham of Nova, was in no mood for hanging up her cycle helmet after claiming the title last week. Instead she shot round, breaking her own record in a time of 37:43 exactly two minutes faster than teammate Corinne Mitchell. Third place went to Alison Sarmiento ahead of Caroline Mullier.

The previous weekend Fairweather and Mullier travelled to the Adept Precision 25 mile TT on the A19 between Northallerton and Topcliffe.

The extremely windy day seemed to suit Fairweather who finished in 53:54. Mullier struggled with the fast outward leg with the tailwind but still recorded 55: Full results on harrogatenova.com