Feast of snooker as Belper club hosts shootout night

Share this article

An excellent turnout of snooker players contested this season’s Christmas Shootout Night at Belper’s Jaxx Q Club to contest three rapid-fire events played in their entirety on one night.

And it was fitting that the main event - the Alan Hopkinson Memorial Trophy - should go to a Bolehill player as, after a tight battle throughout the final, Ian Peacock edged out Richard Deakin by clipping the pink into the middle pocket to secure the silverware.

Ian had previously defeated Charlie Hodgkinson, Chris Drabble and Simon Zoppi on a night where new names appeared on the winners’ roster of all three competitions.

The scotch doubles event for the George Mills Trophy went to Martin Forster (who is actually Ian’s brother) and resident Jaxx lady cueist Hannah Jones, after an even closer deciding contest which went to the final black against Bolehill pair Simon Zoppi and Mick Bunting.

With the pairing showing great teamwork throughout, it fell to Hannah to seal the deal as she calmly executed a long range cut into a baulk pocket to bring home the bacon.

That left the Eddie Lomas Speed Snooker Challenge Trophy to be decided, clearing the colours head to head on adjacent tables, and the fastest man on the block proved to be Matlock Conservative Club’s Nick Kay, who pipped Mick Bunting in the final by a couple of balls.