Marshall leads the field home in Belper Bicycle Club time trial

Jonathan Marshall of Belper Bicycle Club
Jonathan Marshall of Belper Bicycle Club

Last Wednesday evening saw the first of the Belper Bicycle Club Time Trial Championships take place on the main A6 road between Cromford and Broadholme, just outside of Belper.

A total of 11 riders too part in this first time trial of 10km in length, with a strong headwind to contend with throughout.

Jonathan Marshall came in first with a time of 14:06, with David Wallwin second with 14:20. Third place was claimed by Simon Parking with 14:35. Other times were Dan James 14:40, A. Wood 15:16, Nick Bates 16:09, Tony Goldstraw 16:19, Allan Morton 16:54, Mark Tomlinson 17:27, Malcolm Shakespeare 17:58 and youngster Taylor Marshall, with a time of 19:39. Thanks to Bill Cotton and Derrick Woodings for timekeeping.

Meanwhile, last weekend Mike Allen and Derrick Woodings rode the LVRC Lincoln Ridge Road Race on a 42-mile circuit.

The start was fast and into a stiff breeze. This saw an early attempt of a breakaway but the rider was soon pulled in.

There were more mini attacks to try and break the bunch down, but again they were pulled back, proving too hard to stay in front with the difficult headwind.

With less than a lap to go, a bunch sprint seemed imminent, but a big effort by Chris Gunter (Team Virgin) took him clear.

Mick Ives (Jewson) followed across the gap, and they got the first two places. Mike Allen just lost the sprint to Phil Etches to take fourth overall in the race, while Derrick finished further back.