Mud glorious mud as Belper cyclists tackle round nine

Belper Bicycle Club members in the mud at Holme Pierrepoint
Belper Bicycle Club members in the mud at Holme Pierrepoint
Share this article

Round Nine of the SRAM Notts and Derby Cyclo-cross League was at the National Watersports Centre in Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham, last Saturday.

It was the muddiest race so far this season, much to the delight of the cyclo-cross purists, but not so if you don’t like mud and don’t want to accumulate lots of muck on your bike.

Belper BC fielded 14 riders in all the different race categories, a fine achievement that goes to show the level of local interest in cyclo-cross at this time of year.

Sam Gould (Matlock CC) was fastest in the under nines race, with Oliver and Annabel Brown riding for Belper.

In the under 12s race, Josh Scales (Derby Mercury RC) took the win by 14 seconds from Witham Wheelers’ Kerrigan Robb. Christian Boon finished tenth for Belper, closely followed by teammates Edward Warbrick, Jack Husselbee and Liam Northridge. In the youth race, Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) secured victory by just six seconds from Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC), while Belper’s Taylor Marshall and Alice Warbrick also put in their best efforts in this age category race. Belper’s Jonathan Marshall (Zepnat) powered through the mud to take 12th in the senior event. Tony Goldstraw (Empella), David Husselbee, Shaun and Jane Warbrick and Nick Bates were the other Belper riders. Round ten is at Sinfin Park, on Saturday from noon.