Strutt Club No 1 lose final of the Jaeger Trophy

The last of the regular team competitions was up for grabs this week for Darley Dale and District Snooker League teams.

This was the the Champion of Champions play-off final for the prestigious Jaeger Trophy, and was held at Matlock Golf Club.

Belper Strutt Club No 1 had confirmed their top ranking in B Division by qualifying for the showdown while A Division No 4 seeds Edgefold Club had produced the goods when it matters by defeating both Marehay and Bolehill No 1, both higher-ranked teams along the way.

The opening frame saw Belper captain Steve Bullock taking on the unbeaten Jason Ankers, who came into the Matlock team late in the season, but to good effect.

Steve started well, and despite sustaining an injury to his back when bridging over a ball early in the frame, looked set to take the spoils when potting the brown to seemingly give him a lead of 26 points with just 18 remaining.

Unfortunately though, the cue ball had other ideas and disappeared into an adjoining pocket, which left the game back in the balance and Jason eventually took full advantage by taking blue, pink and black in one visit to complete a massive turnaround.

Robert Muxlow held off a late rally from Wayne Shooter in the next, eventually taking it on the pink for 2-0 before Mark Newby and Duncan Harwood’s frame rested on the final black in the third.

And Duncan showed ice cool resolve to trickle the deciding ball right down the side cushion into the bottom pocket at dead weight speed to pull off the shot of the match and ensure Edgefold the cup before Paul Jarrett scored an academic win in frame four.

Meanwhile, the Darley Dale and District League played their first Inter League match for 22 years with a trip to Eyam Institute to take on Hope Valley and Buxton.

The team comprised Ben Monk and Andrew Gratton, Ricki Slack, Dave Gastrell, Chris Parker and Chris Stubbs and things were looking rosy as they raced into a 4-1 lead.

The hosts fought back to level at 4-4 however with Steven Blanchon potting a storming final black to take one of them, before Andrew Gratton nudged Darley Dale ahead again in the ninth.

Danny Homer and then a black ball win from Steve Hawkins put the home side ahead at 6-5 before Chris Parker turned on the style to level in the 12th.

And with both teams pulling balls out of the hat for the decider, Darley Dale were more than happy to see Ben Monk’s name come out and he didn’t disappoint, knocking in breaks of 33 and 27 to take the spoils against Steve Hawkins for a 7-6 win.