Presentation retirements

BELPER United Football Club celebrated a successful season at their annual presentation evening held at The Welcome.

On show were the two cups, the Stan Brewster Memorial Cup and the Belper Nursing Cup, which the first team had won during the season.

Mention was also made of how close the Reserves came to adding a third before they lost to a late goal in extra time in the Midlands Regional Alliance Junior Cup.

Dave Bacon was voted the first team players’ player of the year with Jamie Wilde taking the player of the year and Shaun Smith the leading goalscorer.

Manager Steve Palombo made the awards including a special one to his assistant Colin Davies who retired at the end of the season.

The reserve team’s players’ player of the year and the player of the year were both presented to Richard Holmes with Mike Smith picking up the leading goalscorer award.

Manager Steve Marshall and his assistant Neal Bamford made the presentations, with Bamford, who also retired at the end of the campaign, receiving an award himself.

Chairman Fraser Shaw made the remaining presentations which went to retiring secretary David Robinson, John Taylor, Phil Carer, john Hargreaves, Mick Dennis, Ajax and Ginty Carter.